Board of Zoning Appeals

A Board of Zoning Appeals (hereinafter referred as the BZA) consisting of five (5) members shall be appointed by the Town Council. The BZA shall serve without compensation other than for travel expenses. One of the five appointed members shall be an active member of the Planning Commission.

The BZA shall have the following powers and duties:

1) Administrative Review. The BZA shall have the power to hear and decide appeals when it is alleged there is error in any final order, requirement, determination or decision made by an administrative officer in the administration or enforcement of this Ordinance.

2) Variances. The BZA shall have original jurisdiction to hear and decide applications seeking a variance from the strict application of certain regulations of this Ordinance.

3) Interpretation of Zoning Map. The BZA shall have power to hear and decide any application for interpretation of the Zoning District Map as provided in Section 14.6.

4) Additional Matters. The BZA shall act on any other matter as required by the provisions of this Ordinance.

Board of Zoning Appeals Members


William Heston, Chair                                       Term Expires: April 30, 2021

Richard Brown                                                    Term Expires: April 30, 2022

Lori Minshall                                                       Term Expires: April 30, 2018

Robert Field                                                         Term Expires: April 30, 2019

Jane Ford                                                              Term Expires: April 30, 2020